top of page
Home: Welcome
Book Shelf


Buck Brinson

Author of 

Footfalls on the Trembling Earth

The Staircase

  The Knowing Tree


    Okefenokee Moon 




Home: The Books

In Footfalls on the Trembling Earth Boone Russell and Zac Caudell face a killing machine

named Luther Monks. They are left broken and emotionally scarred.

 In The Staircase something more forceful is coming for Boone in Beaumont County, Georgia. 

It is not limited to human powers and is called Holwak-í.

 In The Knowing Tree, B.L. Renfro was six years old when his mother was murdered. The killer

was not caught. Years passed and he found it was his problem to solve.

It’s 1946 and Renfro has returned from the war. It is time to get going.

In Okefenokee Moon, SUAFR Church of Ezekiel has seeped into the river swamps of

South Georgia. The church's objectives are hidden and its methods are brutal.

Deputies Marcus Spears and B.L. Renfro brush against this evil on a dark night in August 1949.

Spears pays with his life and Renfro is left for dead. The hunt for the killers is on.

The  era of procrastination, of  half-measures,  of delays, is coming to its close.  In its place we are entering a period of consequences.

Winston Churchill, November 12, 1936

And behold, the veil of the temple was rent in twain from the top to the bottom; and the earth did quake, and the rocks rent;

Matthew 27:51 (KJV)

Okefenokee Moon

    Renfro steadied himself at the bottom of the open well. He checked the time again: 5:45 a.m.

    He now knew standing in chest-deep fifty-five-degree water sapped energy. He couldn’t sit down and had nothing above to hold onto. All the things that could go wrong with his long shot bid to get out of this mess kept whipping his wits. Sooner or later, he would weaken and slip.


    After that, oblivion.


BBjr and Naej.jpg
BBJr Navy.jpg
Four Generations 1979.jpg
Book Stack

A Bit About Buck

Buck Brinson grew up on a family farm near the Ogeechee River in southeast Georgia. He attended the University of South Carolina, courtesy of the US Navy, and served with the Atlantic and Mediterranean fleets.  
After active military duty, he returned to school and completed an MS in Computer Science. Over the following years he worked with clients developing and installing major systems across the country.
He now lives in Columbia, SC and enjoys gardening and watching his six grandsons grow up.
Okefenokee Moon is his fourth published work. It follows as sequel to The Knowing Tree and anchors his Boone Russell series. Each of the four books embody the belief that Georgia river swamps are the most mystifyingly beautiful places under the vault of heaven.  
Connect with Buck at
BBJr & Kids & Mimi.jpg
BBJr & Jones.jpg
November 2016.jpg
Cotton October 2016.jpg
Home: About
Home: Contact
Home: Thoughts
Thoughts from those
in the Business

Bonnie Stanard

Author of The Westfall Plantation novel series.

Thoughts on The Knowing Tree 

"B.L. Renfro was six years old when his mother was murdered by an unknown assailant. Years later, clues lead into the dense woods of the Okefenokee swamp where an elusive recluse lives to escape outsiders, if not life itself. The narration moves between different characters, with allusions to the past that provide a credible backstory. You'll find it hard to put down the book as B.L pieces together the puzzle."


Judge, 9th Annual Writer's Digest Book Awards

Thoughts on The Staircase 

"A gripping story about good and evil. About things not seen that can create havoc. There is tension and heart-stopping action, and I could not put the book down."

Columbia Star Newspaper  

           "Footfalls brings laws of nature

                 and mankind together"  


"Buck Brinson grew up in southern Georgia, near the river systems and woods that create the setting for a perfect mystery novel...some characters will endear you and some will scare you."

Full Article:

bottom of page